Are Doritos Corn Chips Flavors Gluten-Free And Safe For Celiacs?

Eating at social gatherings can be stressful if you are gluten-free, especially when it comes to snacking on chips.

The best way to go about this is to discover gluten-free foods and snacks so you can be sure of what to avoid. Luckily for you, I have helped you confirm if Doritos are gluten-free. 

If you are a celiac patient or highly sensitive to gluten, it’s no longer news that you have to steer clear of any food or chips that contain gluten. 

Read ahead to find out more about Doritos, which flavor of Doritos is gluten-free, alternatives to try, and homemade gluten-free Doritos recipes. 

What are Doritos corn chips?

Doritos are flavored tortilla chips produced by an American brand called Frito-Lay. Originally, Doritos were unflavored until the first flavored version—Toasted Corn arrived in 1966.

Now, there are several other flavors to choose from to satisfy your cravings. 

The word Doritos is Spanish for little gold bits. The main ingredient in this snack is tortilla chips in an alkaline solution to release the niacin in corn and form better protein quality. 

You have probably heard of the delightful taste of Doritos, making you eager to taste it. Find out if it’s gluten-free as you read along. 

Is Doritos gluten-free?

Doritos do not contain gluten ingredients, so it’s safe to say they are gluten-free. However, only two flavors of Doritos have a gluten-free label. 

Frito Lay is yet to test and verify any of the Doritos flavors that don’t have a gluten-free label. Therefore, it is against the FDA labeling guidelines to tag them gluten-free. However, Frito Lay claims that all of their Doritos flavors do not contain gluten. 

Which Doritos is gluten-free?

The Simply Organic White Cheddar and Toasted Corn Flavored Tortillas chips are the only two Doritos flavors that are labeled gluten-free. 

These chips have been tested by Frito Lay and have passed the FDA labeling guidelines. Therefore, they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten, making them safe for you if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Why aren’t other Doritos flavors gluten-free?

The Doritos flavors that do not have a gluten-free label have not been tested and verified according to the FDA guideline. This means that they likely contain more than 20 ppm of gluten. 

Although Frito Lay claims the Doritos do not contain gluten, there may be chances of cross-contamination during the production process. 

Who shouldn’t eat Doritos?

Doritos largely do not contain gluten. But two flavors are certified gluten-free. People with celiac disease should steer clear of these chips because they may be cross-contaminated with gluten.

Gluten-free Doritos alternatives

  • Late July
  • Cheetos
  • Paqui
  • Beanitos
  • Beanfields
  • Siete Tortilla Chips


Is Doritos dairy-free?

Almost all Doritos flavors are dairy-free. They contain milk, butter, and other animal-derived flavors which do not make it dairy-free.

Is Doritos vegan?

Doritos are made from corn tortillas which are plant-based ingredients. However, some flavors may contain non-vegan ingredients such as cheese, whey, buttermilk, and other animal-derived ingredients.

Does the tortilla in Doritos contain gluten?

No, it doesn’t. The tortilla used in creating Doritos does not contain gluten as it is made from 100% corn.

While other types of tortillas like flour tortillas contain wheat, which is a great source of gluten, The tortillas used in making Doritos do not contain gluten.


Even though Frito Lay claims that all their Doritos do not contain gluten, only two flavors have a gluten-free label, according to the FDA standards.

This means that even though the chips don’t contain any gluten, they may be cross-contaminated with gluten during production.

If you have zero tolerance for gluten, it is best to only choose from the two certified gluten-free Doritos which are Simply Organic White Cheddar and Toasted Corn Flavored Tortillas Chips.

You can also go for the gluten-free alternatives listed in the article.

Thanks for reading.

Was this guide helpful? Discover more gluten-free foods and alternatives on Millenora.