What Is Lactose-Free Milk? Benefits & Side Effects

Milk is sold in different varieties to suit individual preferences. There are plant-based (dairy-free), lactose-free, and low-fat varieties of milk. Each variety is made to suit both health and lifestyle choices.

For instance, the choice to take dairy-free or lactose-free milk is commonly associated with digestive problems like dairy allergies and lactose intolerance respectively.

If you just learned that you can no longer have milk other than lactose-free milk, read this article to learn what you need to know about this type of milk.

What is lactose-free milk?

If you need to drink milk that does not contain lactose instead of regular milk, it could be because your body produces little or no lactase. The inability of the body to store lactose is what it means to be lactose intolerant.

Lactases are natural enzymes that aid the digestion of lactose, a sugar present in milk, some types of yogurt, and ice cream. A person whose body cannot produce enough lactase cannot digest lactose properly.

Lactose-free milk is regular milk that does not contain lactose. The producers of this type of milk add lactase to regular milk to make it digestible and tolerable for people with lactose intolerance.

Benefits of lactose-free milk

Lactose-free milk is regular milk without lactose. Therefore, it contains the same nutrients as regular milk. It also contains protein, calcium, phosphorus, vitamin B12, vitamin D, and riboflavin. It also tastes delicious and creamy just like cow’s milk.

Moreover, it is a good substitute for people suffering from lactose intolerance.

It also helps in the development of strong bones and teeth, muscle strengthening and repair, and vitamin D absorption for healthy skin, vision, and the immune system.

Is lactose-free milk dairy-free?

No, it is not. This milk is cow’s milk, albeit without lactose. Therefore, they are still the same. Therefore, this milk is not dairy-free.

Dairy-free milk that does not contain lactose is plant-based milk made from vegetables, grains, or legumes such as almond milk, coconut milk, flax milk, soy milk, cashew milk, hazelnut milk, hemp milk, oat milk, etc.

Therefore, if you follow a dairy-free diet, you should avoid dairy products that contain lactose to avoid health complications.

Lactose-free milk side effects

Even though it has several health benefits, you should be aware that there are also a few downsides to drinking milk.

For example, because lactose is natural sugar, a lactose intolerant person cannot take products with lactose. Many manufacturers substitute it with sweeteners which aren’t healthy.

Doctors usually approve a diet that includes less refined foods, especially for those with a lactose problem. Besides, they are both considered processed foods due to how it is processed.

FAQs

What is the difference between lactose-free milk and regular milk?

There isn’t much difference other than the presence of lactose. Nonetheless, they both contain the same nutrients.

Is there lactose-free milk for kids?

Yes, there are lactose-free milk varieties for kids with lactose intolerance. However, you should not give milk to kids below the age of 1.

How can you tell if lactose-free milk is bad?

You would know when your milk is going bad when it gets a sour smell, turns off-color, and has a thick clumpy texture.

Moreso, the milk begins to ferment and develops particles when poured into a glass. If you have bought the powdered form, you will know it is bad by how sparse the powder would look and how it would float on the water when mixed.

Conclusion

Regular lactose-containing milk can cause digestive issues, such as abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, and belching, for those with lactose intolerance.

But the fact that it contains added lactase makes it easier to tolerate for those with lactose intolerance, so it’s a good substitute for regular milk.

Thank you for reading.

If you enjoyed reading this article, view Millenora for more.