Do M&M’s Have Dairy Or Not?

While someone else can enjoy just any snack, as long as they like it, you probably can’t because of allergic reactions and intolerance. For instance, a person with a dairy allergy knows better than just grabbing a pack of M&M’s or any candy at all.

If you have kids, one of your priorities is investigating what they eat, especially if you have any with an allergy. Perhaps, once upon a time, you could eat just anything before you developed a dairy allergy or switched to a vegan diet.

For whichever reason you find yourself wondering if M&M’s has dairy, you’re in the right place. M&M’s chocolates are not dairy-free. But there’s more to learn.

Continue reading to learn more about this popular chocolate, its dairy ingredients, and its best dairy-free alternatives.

About M&M’s

M&M’s are small, round, button-sized chocolate candies.

The hard outer candy shell encloses a sweet chocolate filling that melts in the mouth once you chew. Also, on these hard shells is an inscription of a lowercase ‘m’ on one side.

M&M’s are multicolored candies that were invented in 1941. This was the first of Mars Wrigley’s confectioneries. In 1954, they launched a slogan that says, “melt in your mouth, not in your hand.”

Today, M&M’s is one of the most popular chocolate candies sold in stores around the world. Furthermore, they evolved into different flavors like Minis, Crispy, Pretzels, and Peanut.

Contrary to popular belief, the different colors of M&M’s candy do not depict their flavor. Any bag of M&M’s contains multicolored candies and they will all have the flavor on the pack.

Do M&M’s have dairy?

Yes, they do.

All flavors of M&M’s contain milk chocolate, skim milk, and milk fat which are dairy products.

So, avoid eating M&M’s if you’re vegan, lactose intolerant, or if you have a dairy allergy.

Do Peanut M&M’s have dairy?

Yes, it does.

Peanut M&M’s contains all the dairy ingredients in M&M’s Original. It is therefore not dairy-free. People with a dairy allergy, lactose intolerance, or vegans should avoid it.

Dairy-free alternatives for M&M’s

  • Little Secrets Chocolate (except the Peanut Butter flavor)
  • No Whey! Foods Choco No No’s
  • No Whey! Foods Peppermint No No’s
  • Unreal Dark Chocolate Peanut Gems
  • Unreal Dark Chocolate Crispy Quinoa Gems
  • Choco Yums


Are M&M’s healthy?

M&M’s are healthy only if you eat them in moderation, which can be quite difficult to do.

It’s irresistible to stop at one pack and eating more than a pack of these chocolate candies in a day is unhealthy. It can cause excessive weight gain, spike blood sugar levels, and load your system with chemicals.

It’ll interest you to know that a regular pack of M&M’s contains about 250 calories, 30g carbs, 13g fat, and 25g sugar.

Are Minis M&M’s dairy-free?

No, they are not.

Minis M&M’s contain skim milk, milk fat, lactose, and milk chocolate just like every other M&M’s flavor.

Are Crispy M&M’s dairy-free?

No, they are not.

Crispy M&M’s contain skim milk and milk fat which are dairy products.

Do M&M’s have gluten?

Some M&M’s flavors contain gluten; you should avoid them if you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

The M&M’s flavors that contain gluten include Pretzel M&M’s and Crispy M&M’s.

In addition, watch out for the seasonal flavors. Some of them may contain gluten.


M&M’s contain dairy because they are made from milk chocolate.

So, if you are vegan or eating dairy-free, they are currently not your best choice. These chocolate candies are also not safe for people with lactose intolerance.

However, you can try out any of the dairy-free alternatives listed in the article. They are also readily available in your favorite stores.

Finally, do you love to eat Crumbl cookies? Learn how to store them at home and keep them fresh and crunchy.

Thanks for reading.