Is Snickers Chocolate Bar, Ice Cream Bar, White Chocolate, Peanut Butter Squares Gluten-Free?

I bet you’ve wondered if it’s okay to crave Snickers bars on a gluten-free diet. Well, eating gluten-free doesn’t exempt you from having and satisfying your cravings. You only have to know what is and isn’t safe for you.

Snickers is gluten-free, but there is no third-party certification for this. This means that eating a bar of Snickers may not always be a good idea for gluten sensitivity.

Also, there are different versions of Snickers chocolate candies which means that not all of them are gluten-free.

Continue reading this article to see more details on the gluten status of Snickers candy bars.

What are Snickers?

Snickers are chocolate candy bars produced by Mars, an American company. The candy bars contain nougat, peanuts, and caramel which are covered in milk chocolate.

The most famous Snickers tagline, “you are not you when you’re hungry,” well describes the bar of goodness as it is indeed satisfying.

Per serving, the Snickers chocolate candy bar contains 250 calories, 12g total fat, 32g carbohydrate, 4g protein, 28g sugars, and other nutrients.

However, the above nutritional value varies with different Snickers versions. Some popular versions include Snickers Original, Snickers Mini, Snickers Brownie, Snickers Peanut Butter, Snickers Protein Bar, Snickers Ice Cream Bar, and Snickers Almond.

Is Snickers gluten-free?

Snickers do not contain any gluten ingredients. However, this does not certify them as gluten-free.

Some of the Snickers bars may contain gluten due to cross-contamination during production.

If you are eating gluten-free as a lifestyle or due to mild gluten intolerance, you may enjoy a Snickers bar in moderation. But you should watch out for any reactions during or after snacking on the bar of chocolate.

Is Snickers Ice Cream bars gluten-free?

No, it isn’t.

Snickers Ice Cream bars are not gluten-free. Although they do not contain gluten, the allergen information shows that the bars may contain wheat due to cross-contamination.

If you have celiac or gluten sensitivity, stay off these Snickers bars and eat another version.

Is Snickers Protein Bar gluten-free?

Yes, Snickers Protein bars are gluten-free and vegan too.

So, if you need a gluten-free protein bar before setting out for the day, you can try a bar of Snickers. However, there is no certification for its gluten-free status.

It is, therefore, safe for only people eating gluten-free as a lifestyle preference, not for those with celiac disease.

Is Snickers Creamy Peanut Butter Squares gluten-free?

Yes, it is. You can add bars of Snickers Creamy Peanut Butter Squares to your gluten-free diet.

But this does not apply to people with celiac disease. As mentioned earlier, Snickers bars are not certified gluten-free. This means that they may be contaminated with gluten.

Is Snickers Peanut Brownie Squares Chocolate Candy gluten-free?

Snickers Peanut Brownie Squares Chocolate Candy is gluten-free. It does not contain any gluten ingredients, thereby making it safe for people eating gluten-free as a lifestyle or because of mild gluten sensitivity.

But, because Snickers bars are not certified gluten-free, this version of Snickers may not be safe for celiacs.

Is Snickers Blizzard gluten-free?

Snickers Blizzard treat does not contain any gluten ingredients.

The allergen information doesn’t include wheat as an ingredient. However, since the blizzard machine is used to make different flavors of blizzards, it may be cross-contaminated.

Furthermore, some of the toppings served on the blizzards may contain wheat, barley, or rye.

Therefore, you should let the staff taking your order know that you are gluten intolerant. Also, request that they clean the machine before preparing your blizzard.

Is Snickers White Chocolate gluten-free?

Snickers White Chocolate does not contain gluten ingredients, but it is not certified gluten-free.

You can safely have this snack bar if you’re eating gluten-free as a lifestyle. But, with the celiac condition, it’s a no-no.

Gluten-free alternatives for Snickers

  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bars
  • Hershey’s Milk Duds
  • 3 Musketeers Bars
  • M&M candy (except the crispy, pretzel, and seasonal varieties)
  • Dark Chocolate Milky Way
  • Starburst
  • Butterfingers (except Butterfinger Crisp)
  • Original Rolo Caramels
  • Heath Bars
  • Skittles
  • Tootsie Rolls
  • Payday Candy
  • Mound Bars
  • Reese Peanut Butter Cups

Are there side effects of eating Snickers?

Snickers bars are not certified gluten-free. If you eat them as a celiac, you may experience the side effects of eating gluten foods. But with mild gluten sensitivity, your digestive tract is not in so much danger.

Recipe for gluten-free homemade Snickers bars

If you’re very mindful of the ingredients in your chocolate bars, but you love Snickers, you can indulge yourself by making yourself some Snickers bars.

Follow this recipe to make 24 Snickers bars:


For the nougat:

  • 2 ½ cups of pureed cashew nuts
  • 1 ½ cups of roasted and blanched hazelnuts
  • 1 ½ cups of oats
  • 5 Medjool dates
  • 3-4 tablespoons of peanut butter

For the caramel:

  • 1 ½ cups of coconut milk
  • 1 ½ cups of peanuts
  • 15-18 tablespoons of maple syrup
  • 9 tablespoons of smooth peanut butter
  • Salt

The coating:

  • Dark chocolate
  • 2-3 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • You’ll also need a cake tin


  • Blend all the ingredients for the nougat into a puree. Make sure they are sticky before you stop blending
  • Line the cake tin with parchment paper and pour the nougat into it
  • Afterward, melt the ingredients for the caramel layer except for the peanuts in a clean saucepan until the mixture boils
  • Make sure you stir continuously until it thickens
  • Add the salt and bring down the saucepan
  • After, spread the caramel over the nougat and sprinkle the peanuts
  • Keep the cake tin in the freezer to solidify
  • When you take it out, cut the nougat and caramel layer into small bars
  • Then, melt the dark chocolate and coconut oil for the coating
  • Dip each bar into the melted chocolate and coconut oil and lay aside
  • Serve or gather them into a freezer bag or airtight container and freeze


Is Snickers Dark Chocolate Almond Brownie gluten-free?

Yes, it is.

Snickers Dark Chocolate Almond Brownie Chocolate Candy Fun Size Bars are safe for people with gluten sensitivity.

Do Snickers contain wheat?

The Snickers bars do not contain wheat according to the ingredients list and the allergen information.

Can celiacs eat Snickers?

People with celiac disease should stay off Snickers.

Although the candy bars contain gluten, they are not certified as gluten-free. This means that there is the possibility of cross-contamination during production.

Are Snickers gluten-free and dairy-free?

Snickers bars are gluten-free but not dairy-free. The chocolate bars have a milk coating and also contain skim milk. So, stay off Snickers if you have a dairy allergy.

Are Snickers vegan?

No, Snickers candy bars are not vegan.

If you look at the ingredient list, you’ll find that the chocolate bars contain egg whites and milk, which are non-vegan ingredients. Stay off Snickers if you’re eating vegan.


Mars is one of those organizations that take allergen management very seriously. You can trust that the information on the labels is authentic. This can help you determine if a Snickers bar is gluten-free and safe for you to eat.

Snickers chocolate candy bars do not contain gluten ingredients, but they are not certified as gluten-free.

The safest you can be with gluten sensitivity is to stay off eating Snickers. If you must eat it, do so in moderation and be sure you do not have celiac disease. Most importantly, at the slightest reaction, drop the bar of chocolate.

Thanks for reading.

Check Millenora for more articles that tell you what’s fit for a gluten-free diet.