Are Ruffles Gluten-Free? Benefits & Alternatives

Having gluten intolerance simply means you must be conscious of the foods and snacks you eat. This also applies to you if you are a celiac patient.

Knowing what snack is and isn’t gluten-free is important. If you love Frito Lay’s collection of chips, you might want to start by checking for their gluten status. Let’s take a look at Ruffles in this article.

Frito Lay produces a wide array of delicious snacks. Just like every other brand, not everyone can have all of them. Ruffles are one of their chips collection and it is highly indulgent.

Before you take the bait, here’s what you should know.

What are Ruffles?

Ruffles are one of Frito Lay’s chips. As the name implies, the chips look ruffled like folds created by a gathering of strips from a fabric. 

Ruffles chips are made from potatoes. The chips are sturdy and crunchy. This form makes the chips highly resistant to pressure which would naturally break any chips.

Despite being ruffled, it has a ridged surface area that allows easy absorption in dips. 

Are Ruffles gluten-free?

Ruffles don’t contain any gluten ingredients, which makes them gluten-free. However, the absence of gluten ingredients is not the only criterion to determine if a product is gluten-free.

Every product has to be tested according to FDA labeling guidelines to determine if they are gluten-free. 

Ruffle chips are available in several flavors, but only 4 out of these flavors have a gluten-free label on them. Even though Frito Lay claims the others don’t contain gluten, they are not certified as gluten-free.

Which Ruffles flavors are gluten-free?

Only the following Ruffles are tested and certified gluten-free:

  • RUFFLES® Original Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Oven Baked Original Potato Crisps
  • RUFFLES® Reduced Fat Original Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Simply Reduced Fat Sea Salted Potato Chips

These flavors contain less than 20ppm of gluten, earning them the gluten-free label. Any other flavor that’s not on the list doesn’t have the gluten-free label and is yet to be certified gluten-free.

Why aren’t the other Ruffles gluten-free?

Other Ruffles flavors don’t have a gluten-free label because they are yet to undergo proper testing according to FDA guidelines. There is no proof that they do not contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. 

Despite Frito Lay’s claim that ruffles are gluten-free, these chips may be cross-contaminated with gluten.

These Ruffles chip flavors include:

  • RUFFLES® All Dressed Flavored Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Classic Hot Wings Flavored Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Creamy Buffalo Ranch Flavored Dip
  • RUFFLES® Flame Grilled Cheeseburger Flavored Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Loaded Bacon & Cheddar Potato Skins Flavored Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Organic Original Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Oven Baked Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Potato Crisps
  • RUFFLES® Queso Flavored Potato Chips
  • RUFFLES® Sour Cream & Onion Flavored Potato Chips

Are Ruffle chips healthy?

Yes, they are. Ruffle chips are healthy for everyone.

However, you need to be careful with the flavor you eat if you have celiac disease. People with celiac disease can have only the four certified gluten-free flavors of Ruffles chips.

It is best to avoid the other varieties that have no gluten-free guarantee. If you have had enough of the gluten-free varieties of Ruffles, you can go for similar alternatives provided below. 

Gluten-free alternatives of Ruffles

1. Popcorners’ Sea Salt Chips

Popcorners’ Sea Salt chips are a good Ruffles alternative for you. The chips have a gluten-free label—meaning that it has been tested and proven to contain less than 20ppm.

Moreover, it contains only three ingredients—-yellow corn, sunflower oil, and sea salt. 

These ingredients are all non-GMO, vegan, and dairy-free. Popcorners’ Sea Salt chips also contain no artificial color, flavors, or preservatives. This makes it a healthy alternative for you to splurge on. 

2. Brad’s Plant-Based Sweet Potato Chips

Here’s another gluten-free Ruffles substitute that contains only organic ingredients. Brad’s plant-based sweet potato chips are dairy-free, vegan, and contain low sodium. The low sodium content makes it a healthy choice for you. 

Although this snack contains a lot of ingredients, none of them contain gluten.

3. Inka Crops’ Sea Salt Plantain Chips

Sea Salt Plantain Chips by Inka Crops are delicious chips made from only three ingredients. 

They are gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, and contain a very low sodium content—making them a healthy alternative for you. The three ingredients are plantain, palm oil, and salt.

4. Rhythm Superfoods’ Sea Salt Beet Chips

Rhythm Superfoods’ Sea Salt Beet chips are another healthy alternative for you. It contains only organic, gluten-free, and vegan ingredients.

The low-fat content in the chips makes them enjoyable and helps you to eat healthily.

5. Popchips Potato’s Sea Salt Chips

These Sea Salt Chips are produced by Popchips Potato. These chips have a low-fat content and do not go through any frying process.

They contain only non-GMO ingredients and are gluten-free, kosher, and vegan. This makes them a great healthy alternative to Ruffles potato chips. 

Are there side effects to eating gluten-free Ruffles?

Ruffles are potato chips and eating too much of them can have side effects.

Overconsumption of potato chips can make you gain weight. According to Healthline, potato chips make the list of 7 foods that will most likely make you gain weight. They are high in fat, refined carbs, and salt which are responsible for weight gain.

Ruffles potato chips are also salty and fried. Eating the chips regularly can make you feel bloated and puffy.

If at any point you start feeling this way, that’s a sign that you are eating too many chips. If your hands, feet, and lips feel puffy, it’s because of the salt content of the chips—which causes water retention.


Are Ruffles vegan?

Yes, Ruffles are vegan. The original and all other dressed flavors of Ruffles potato chips are vegan. All the ingredients that make up these chips are plant-based.

Are Ruffles dairy-free?

Ruffles do not contain any dairy ingredients. Therefore, they are dairy-free and healthy for people with dairy allergies.

Is potato gluten-free?

Yes, it is. Potatoes are starchy vegetables, not grains. Therefore, they are naturally gluten-free. Gluten is a protein that can only be found in grains like wheat, barley, rye, and others. 


Ruffles are gluten-free potato chips. However, only four flavors have been tested and are certified to be gluten-free according to FDA labeling guidelines.

If you have gluten intolerance or any form of gluten sensitivity, these four flavors are safe for you.

It is important to know that the other Ruffle potato chip flavors are not certified gluten-free despite Frito-Lay’s claims. It’s best to avoid them if you have celiac disease. 

Thanks for reading.

Millenora has more informational articles like this to help make your gluten-free journey easy.