Are Fritos Corn Chips Gluten-Free And Safe For Celiacs To Eat?

Fritos brand makes great corn chips but they are not all gluten-free.

Don’t frown yet. Since Fritos has some gluten-free corn chips, find out which flavors are suitable for your gluten sensitivity and stick with them instead.

And if you’ll rather not have Fritos for fear of gluten contamination, I have also provided a list of gluten-free alternatives to Fritos.

What are Fritos?

Fritos are thin strips of corn chips made by frying whole cornmeal. The Fritos brand includes corn chips and dipping sauce manufactured by Frito-Lay, a division of PepsiCo.

The most popular Fritos corn chips are the Original Fritos which is a wavy strip of orange corn chips.

However, Frito-Lay has other Fritos flavors that are just as tasty as the Original Fritos. Although, the Original Fritos has a subtle flavor compared to the other flavors.

Is Fritos gluten-free?

Not all Fritos flavors are gluten-free. Frito-Lay states that although they do not include gluten ingredients when producing the chips, they cannot guarantee consumers that all their chips are gluten-free.

However, this does not mean that the other flavors contain gluten ingredients. They are rather described as “Fritos that do not contain gluten ingredients.”

The difference between gluten-free Fritos and Fritos that do not contain gluten ingredients is in the production process.

The former is prepared in a facility completely free of gluten ingredients, while the latter may be produced alongside other products containing gluten.

Are Fritos Original corn chips gluten-free?

Yes, Fritos Original corn chips do not contain gluten ingredients.

They are one of the few Fritos that are 100% gluten-free. This means that they are processed in facilities that are also gluten-free.

What other Fritos flavors are gluten-free?

Alongside Fritos Original, Fritos Scoops, Fritos Lightly Salted corn chips, and Fritos Reduced Fat Original corn chips are the other flavors of Fritos that are certified gluten-free.

List of Fritos that do not contain gluten

  • Fritos Flamin’ Hot Flavored Corn Chips
  • Fritos Chili Cheese Flavored Corn Chips
  • Fritos Flavor Twist Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Chips
  • Fritos Scoops! Spicy Jalapeno Flavored Corn Chips
  • Fritos Spicy Jalapeno Flavored Corn Chips

Is Fritos Bean Dip gluten-free?

Fritos Bean Dip does not contain gluten.

According to the ingredient list from Frito-Lay, this dipping sauce is made with water, pinto beans, vinegar, corn oil, salt, maltodextrin (made from corn), dried onion, sugar, jalapeno peppers, spice, chili pepper, dried garlic, and natural flavors.

None of the above ingredients contain gluten. Therefore, you can have Fritos Bean Dip if you’re gluten intolerant.

What are the benefits of eating gluten-free Fritos?

The benefits of eating gluten-free Fritos are rather applicable to people with gluten sensitivity.

You should eat only the gluten-free flavors of Fritos corn chips if you’re gluten-sensitive. These flavors will reduce the symptoms of gluten sensitivity.

Are there side effects of eating gluten-free Fritos?

Yes, there are. Although Fritos are delicious, they are not completely healthy.

The corn chips are made with overprocessed corn, which will not be as nutritious as it was before processing.

Also, corn chips have very high sodium content, which is not good for the body. Therefore, if you want to eat Fritos, do so in moderation.

Gluten-free alternatives to Fritos

  • PipSnacks PipCorn Sea Salt Heirloom Corn Dippers
  • Sana Himalayan Pink Salt and Coconut Flour Tortillas Chips
  • Mission Foods Tortilla Chips
  • Late July Tortilla Chips
  • Public Goods Tortilla Chips
  • Siete Grain Free Tortilla Chips
  • Pulp Chips Barbecue
  • The Better Chip
  • Kettle Brand Tortilla Chips
  • The Blue Corn Tortilla Chips from Food Should Taste Good
  • Tortilla Chips
  • Vegetable Chips
  • Potato Chips
  • WildRoots Red Quinoa Chia Tortilla Chips


Can celiacs eat Fritos corn chips?

Celiacs can eat any of the four gluten-free flavors of Fritos corn chips.

They include Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips, Fritos Original Corn Chips, Fritos Reduced Fat Original Corn Chips, and Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips.

Is Fritos vegan?

Yes, Fritos corn chips are vegan. These delicious chips are made from corn, oil, and salt. All of these ingredients are vegan-friendly. This, therefore, makes Fritos corn chips fit for a vegan lifestyle.

Are Fritos corn chips dairy-free?

There are only four dairy-free flavors of Fritos corn chips. They are Fritos Flavor Twists Honey BBQ Flavored Corn Snacks, Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips, Fritos Original Corn Chips, and Fritos Scoops! Corn Chips.


Fritos are a great snack and can be quite filling if you dip them in a sauce. However, you cannot eat all the Fritos chips flavors if you’re gluten intolerant.

But you don’t have to stay off the corn chips completely. Find the flavors that won’t trigger a reaction in your digestive system.

Also, you can opt for alternatives that you are sure are 100% gluten-free.

Thanks for reading.

If you’re eating gluten-free, Millenora is the place to read the best guides to help you pick your meals.