Can You Eat Tootsie Rolls Candy if You’re Gluten-Free?

Kids will tell you Easter and Halloween are best enjoyed with Tootsie Rolls. But before you buy all the Tootsie Rolls in the store for your kids, find out if these candies are gluten-free and healthy for your kids with gluten sensitivity.

These are one of the things you should worry about if your family is gluten sensitive. Ahead, you’ll find answers to your questions about the gluten status of Tootsie Rolls.

What are Tootsie Rolls?

Tootsie Rolls are chocolate candies made from sugar, corn syrup, palm oil, condensed skim milk, soy lecithin, cocoa, whey, and artificial and natural flavors. These treats have great similarities with taffies. They are light, fluffy, and chewy.

Tootsie Rolls are manufactured by Tootsie Rolls Industries, a confections company located in Chicago, Illinois.

Furthermore, Tootsie Rolls Industries have another candy, Tootsie Fruit Chews, that has a similar texture to Tootsie Rolls. But they have different flavors.

In addition, these candies taste a lot like cocoa and they also have a subtle fruity taste to complement the cocoa.

Are Tootsie Rolls gluten-free?

Yes. All the Tootsie Rolls flavors are gluten-free.

Tootsie Rolls Industry’s website states that “All of our confections are gluten-free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt, or any of their components and that includes the dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.”

Are Tootsie Rolls gluten-free and dairy-free?

All Tootsie Rolls are gluten-free but not dairy-free. They contain whey and condensed skim milk. Therefore, they are not suitable for people following a dairy-free diet.

Do you need to eat Tootsie Rolls?

Tootsie Rolls are great for midday snacking or to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Six pieces of Tootsie Rolls sum up to about 20 grams of sugar, which is just a little below the recommended daily sugar intake. So, you might want to be careful while you snack on them.

Moreover, they contain other ingredients like artificial flavors, artificial colors, and hydrogenated soybean oil, which can be harmful to the body if taken in excess.

Are there side effects of eating gluten-free Tootsie Rolls?

Eating Tootsie Rolls does not have many side effects. You are reaping the major benefit of avoiding the symptoms of gluten intolerance.

On a gluten-free diet, you may be missing out on some vital nutrients like vitamins and minerals. Also, the candy may have a high sugar and calorie content, which can result in weight gain.

To be safe, read the nutritional facts about the gluten-free candy you want to eat. Be sure that you’re healthy as you go gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Tootsie Flavors

  • Original Tootsie Roll
  • Tootsie Roll Midgees
  • Tootsie Roll Vanilla Midgees
  • Tootsie Roll Mini Bites
  • Tootsie Roll Snack Bars
  • Tootsie Fruit Chews
  • Tootsie Roll Fruit Chew Mini Bites


Can celiacs eat Tootsie Rolls?

Yes. People with celiac disease can safely eat Tootsie Rolls. Tootsie Rolls Industries does not use any gluten grain in the production of its candies.

Are Vanilla Tootsie Rolls dairy-free?

Vanilla Tootsie Rolls are not dairy-free. The candy contains condensed skim milk and whey, which are dairy products.

Are Tootsie Rolls Midgees gluten-free?

Yes, Tootsie Rolls Midgees are gluten-free.

Are Tootsie Rolls vegan?

Tootsie Rolls are not vegan because they contain dairy products. If you’re eating vegan, Tootsie Rolls are not the candies for you.

Are Tootsie Rolls kosher?

Tootsie Rolls are certified kosher by the Orthodox Union (OU). Therefore, these candies can be on your Passover table.


You got your answer. Tootsie Rolls are gluten-free. While you’re Easter and Halloween shopping for your kids’ candy, you can joyfully snatch a bag without worry for your gluten-free kid.

Tootsie Rolls Industries specifically doesn’t use any gluten grain in the production of their candies. So all your children can safely enjoy the deliciousness.

Thanks for reading.

If you’re eating gluten-free, Millenora is the place to read the best guides to help you pick your meals.