Is Cheerios Cereal Gluten-Free? Honey Nut, Cinnamon, Oat Crunch, Multigrain

The gluten-free status of Cheerios is not so certain because some of them are gluten-free while others are not.

Cheerios is a favorite cereal in many families. However, it does not have a third-party gluten-free certification which is a great assurance for people with gluten intolerance.

A gluten-free diet requires a lot of care. Some celiacs would rather stay off the cereals and go for a surer gluten-free alternative.

Ahead, there are answers to questions you have probably asked yourself about this delicious cereal.

About Cheerios

Cheerios are cereals made from whole-grain oats. They have the shape of a solid torus, one of the reasons why kids love this cereal.

In the United States and Canada, this cereal is manufactured by General Mills. In other countries, Cheerios are marketed under the Nestlé brand.

The breakfast cereal is low in calories, sugar, and fat but provides the body with fiber, calcium, and many vitamins and minerals.

Furthermore, eating Cheerios can help lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of getting heart disease.

Are Cheerios gluten-free?

Cheerios are made from gluten-free oat grains.

However, there is no third-party certification that declares the cereals gluten-free. Some of them are gluten-free and others are not.

The manufacturing company says that they do everything possible to eliminate cross-contamination with gluten grains like wheat, barley, and rye.

Furthermore, General Mills says that they ensure that the oats used in cheerios meet the FDA recommendation of <20ppm gluten.

Are Honey Nut Cheerios gluten-free?

Yes, Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free.

General Mills affirms that the cereal has less than 20 ppm gluten. It is, therefore, safe for celiacs and people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

Are Chocolate Cheerios gluten-free?

Chocolate Cheerios cereals are gluten-free.

General Mills puts a gluten-free seal on the pack, confirming that it meets the FDA’s recommended <20ppm gluten in gluten-free food.

Are Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheerios gluten-free?

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheerios cereal is not 100% safe for people with gluten sensitivity.

Although it doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients, artificial flavors, or artificial colors, it is not gluten-free. Moreover, the company doesn’t put a gluten-free claim on the pack.

This cereal is not processed in an exclusive gluten-free system. So, there is a risk of cross-contamination with gluten grains.

Are Multigrain Cheerios gluten-free?

Yes, it is.

The Multigrain Cheerios contains five grains; oats, sorghum, rice, millet, and corn. All five grains are gluten-free, and the cereal does not contain any other gluten ingredient.

In addition, General Mills puts a gluten-free claim on the pack because it meets the FDA’s <20ppm gluten in gluten-free meals.

Are Cinnamon Cheerios gluten-free?

Yes, Cinnamon Cheerios is gluten-free.

The cereal does not have any ingredients that can trigger an allergic reaction in people with gluten sensitivity.

It also carries a gluten-free claim on its pack. Celiacs can safely eat this cereal without fear of an allergic reaction.

Are Apple Cinnamon Cheerios gluten-free?

Yes, Apple Cinnamon Cheerios are gluten-free.

If you have celiac disease and have already decided to stay off Cheerios, you can reconsider your choice with this Cheerios.

Are Blueberry Cheerios gluten-free?

Blueberry Cheerios is a fruit-flavored breakfast cereal and does not contain any gluten ingredients

General Mills puts a gluten-free seal on the pack which confirms that it is safe for celiacs and people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Are Cheerios Oat Crunch gluten-free?

Oat Crunch Cheerios cereal is not gluten-free.

Moreover, the pack doesn’t carry a gluten-free label on it. And the company says that the ingredients on the box are very accurate.

This implies that the cereal may have been cross-contaminated with gluten grains. However, if you know your level of gluten sensitivity, you may or may not eat this cereal because it doesn’t contain any gluten ingredients.

Is Cheerios Oat Crunch Almond cereal gluten-free?

Cheerios Oat Crunch Almond may be cross-contaminated with gluten during processing, so it is not 100% gluten-free.

It also doesn’t have a gluten-free label on its pack. Moreover, on the Cheerios website, Cheerios Oat Crunch Almond is not on the list of gluten-free cereals.

Therefore, if you have gluten intolerance, you should stay off this cereal and go for the gluten-free options.

Are Cheerios Oat Crunch, Oats ‘N Honey gluten-free?

Like the other Oat Crunch Cheerios, Cheerios Oat Crunch Oats ‘N Honey is not gluten-free.

There is no dedicated processing system for the cereal to prevent cross-contamination. Therefore, it is not safe for people with gluten sensitivity.

Do you need gluten-free Cheerios in your diet?

Yes, you need gluten-free cereals if you are gluten intolerant.

Also, these cereals have a low sugar content that makes them kid-friendly. Additionally, gluten-free cereals are healthy for people trying to reduce their sugar intake.

Gluten-free alternatives for Cheerios

  • Love Grown Honey Power O’s
  • Orgran Multigrain Breakfast O’s with Quinoa
  • Nature’s Path Whole O’s
  • Peanut Butter Chex Cereals
  • Original Lucky Charms Cereals
  • Corn Chex Cereal
  • Nature’s Path Cocoa Coconut Superflakes
  • Three Wishes Protein Cereal
  • Barbara’s Honey Rice Puffins
  • Freedom Foods Rice Flakes
  • Kellogg’s Special K Gluten-Free Cereals
  • Enjoy Life Crunchy Flax
  • Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes

Are there side effects of eating gluten-free cereals?

Yes, there are. Gluten-free cereals are low in fiber and vitamins. The amount of fiber and vitamins in these cereals is not enough to meet the recommended daily intake.

Additionally, they may contain more calories and sugar, which can lead to weight gain.


Can you eat Cheerios if you have a wheat allergy?

If you have a wheat allergy but not celiac disease, you should eat only Cheerios that do not contain wheat.

Are Cheerios vegan?

Cheerios are not vegan. Some of them contain honey which is not a vegan ingredient. Moreover, Cheerios contain white sugar and are fortified with vitamin D3, which is obtained from wool grease.

Are Cheerios dairy-free?

Almost all gluten-free Cheerios are dairy-free.

On the list are Original Cheerios, Blueberry Cheerios, Maple Cheerios, Chocolate Cheerios, Cinnamon Cheerios, Fruity Cheerios, and Frosted Cheerios.

Some Cheerios that contain gluten are also dairy-free. Examples are Cheerios Oat Crunch, Chocolate Peanut Butter Cheerios, and Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch.

Are Cheerios low FODMAP?

Yes, you can eat Cheerios on a low-FODMAP diet.

However, it would help if you ate the cereals in moderation. Cheerios contain sugar, and some flavors contain gluten. Eating too many of these cereals may still cause reactions in your digestive tract.


Cheerios are a “wholesome goodness” cereal for family breakfast. They are good for adults and kid-friendly too. However, not all varieties of this cereal are gluten-free.

General Mills does their best to make sure the oats are processed with the utmost care because of people with gluten sensitivity.

All Cheerios cereals that do not contain gluten have a gluten-free label on them. On the other hand, cereals that contain gluten do not have gluten-free labels.

When you go shopping for cereals, ensure to read the label and be sure the cereal is gluten-free. You can also visit the Cheerios website to see their list of cereal and make your choice.

Thanks for reading.

Check Millenora for more articles that tell you what’s fit for a gluten-free diet.