Find Out If Ginger Beer Is Good For A Gluten-Free Diet

Generally, ginger beer is gluten-free. But, you have to be cautious as different brands make their beers differently.

Eating gluten-free doesn’t mean you cannot enjoy a good beer after a tiring day or on a cool evening. While some gluten-intolerant people prefer to stay away from beer to avoid getting gluten into their system, it’s not always likely.

So, how do you know if your ginger beer contains gluten ingredients or not? That is what this article looks into.

What is ginger beer?

Ginger beer is a non-alcoholic beverage that is different from regular beer. It is a carbonated soda made with ginger extract.

Ginger beer is manufactured by carbonating a mixture of ginger, water, sugar, yeast, other ingredients like stabilizers, and natural and artificial flavors.

Furthermore, you may find that some ginger beers are lightly alcoholic. Another thing to note is that ginger beer is not the same as ginger ale.

Ginger beers have a stronger ginger flavor, unlike ginger ales, which are made with carbonated water, ginger flavor, sugar, coloring, and sweeteners.

In addition, you can use ginger beer in different ways. You can add it to your alcoholic beverages or drink it as it is. Either way, it’s a great treat.

Is ginger beer gluten-free?

Most ginger beers are gluten-free. They are made of ginger roots and sugar. Contrary to what it is called, ginger beer is not a beer. In recent times, it is rather manufactured instead of fermented.

However, this does not mean all ginger beers are gluten-free. Some of them contain additives that cross-contaminate the beer with gluten.

Is Zevia Mixer ginger beer gluten-free?

Zevia Mixer makes one of the healthiest gluten-free ginger beers you can find.

This ginger beer has no calories, artificial sweeteners, or colors. It is also naturally flavored and vegan-friendly.

Is Reed’s ginger beer gluten-free?

Reed’s ginger beer is a non-alcoholic gluten-free ginger beer.

The beer is made with natural flavors and does not contain genetically modified organisms (GMOs). Reed’s ginger beer contains fresh ginger root, pineapple juice, lemon juice, lime juice, honey, and spices.

However, not all Reed’s ginger beers are vegan. The zero-sugar version is vegan, but the Original Reed’s ginger beer contains honey. So, it is not vegan.

Is James Squire ginger beer gluten-free?

James Squire’s ginger beer does not contain gluten ingredients. But, the brand does not declare it gluten-free.

If you’re gluten-intolerant based on personal preferences, you may have a can of James Squire ginger beer on some days.

Those with celiac disease, on the other hand, will need to get more information or avoid beer generally.

Is Crabbies ginger beer gluten-free?

Yes, Crabbies ginger beer is gluten-free as stated by the brand’s website.

Crabbies beer is also alcoholic. Therefore, if you have celiac disease and can tolerate alcohol, you can safely enjoy a can of chilled Crabbies ginger beer without fear of a reaction.

Is Bundaberg ginger beer gluten-free?

All of Bundaberg’s brews do not contain gluten and this includes their ginger beer.

If you don’t find Crabbies ginger beer, you can safely drink Bundaberg’s with gluten intolerance.

Is Gosling’s ginger beer gluten-free?

Gosling’s is one of the most-sold ginger beers in America. It is presumed that this beer is gluten-free because the ingredients list does not contain any gluten ingredients.

However, you cannot be too sure. Gosling’s has two ginger beer varieties- Gosling’s Stormy ginger beer and Gosling’s Diet ginger beer.

If you have celiac disease, you should carefully examine the ingredients list for any additives that contain gluten. If you find any gluten ingredients, drop Gosling’s and look for another beer you’re sure does not contain gluten.

Is Brookvale Union ginger beer gluten-free?

Brookvale Union’s ginger beer is not 100% gluten-free.

The ginger beer is also processed in the same facility where they produce their gluten beers. So there is a likely possibility that the ginger beer is cross-contaminated with gluten.

As a result, it may not be 100% fit for people with gluten sensitivity, especially those with celiac.

Is Matso’s ginger beer gluten-free?

Matso’s ginger beer is a gluten-free and mildly alcoholic drink. It also has a low sugar content and is vegan-friendly.

Is Fever Tree ginger beer gluten-free?

Yes, Fever Tree ginger beer does not contain gluten.

However, the company does not certify the beer as gluten-free. Notwithstanding, Fever Tree ginger beer is a great mixer for Moscow Mules and Dark ‘n Stormy.

Is Barritt’s ginger beer gluten-free?

The two varieties of Barritt’s ginger beer – Barritts Original and Barritts Sugar-Free – do not contain gluten. They are sweetened with cane sugar which makes them also vegan-friendly.

Is Q ginger beer gluten-free?

Q Mixer’s ginger beer does not contain any gluten ingredients.

It is a spicy, low-sugar beer made only for mixing with vodka, rum, and whiskey. Add this ginger beer to whiskey to make it sharp and spicy.

Is ginger beer good for you?

Not all ginger beers are alcoholic because not all manufacturing brands make beers. Here are some health benefits you may enjoy from drinking ginger beer:

  • Improved digestion.
  • Ginger beer can help to reduce nausea.
  • Drinking ginger beer may help reduce inflammation and work as an analgesic.
  • Also, ginger beer has antibacterial properties. It can help relieve inflammation in the respiratory tract.
  • Ginger beer has the potential to reduce the risk of getting colorectal cancer.
  • In addition, drinking ginger beer can help increase dopamine levels and consequently slow down aging and improve mental health.

Are there side effects of drinking ginger beer?

Yes, there are.

Ginger beers are carbonated beverages. Overconsumption may cause gassiness, excessive burping, and bloating.

Moreover, because these ginger beers may not contain gluten, you’ll be missing out on essential nutrients like fiber, vitamin B, and other micronutrients.

Other side effects include:

  • Heartburn
  • Irregular blood clotting
  • Diarrhea
  • Overly reduced blood sugar levels
  • It may react with some medications


Is ginger beer vegan?

Not all ginger beers are vegan. A brand like Crabbies does not produce vegan ginger beer.

Always take extra care to look up the brands you’re eating or drinking before consuming them.

Is Schweppes ginger beer gluten-free?

Schweppes ginger beer does not contain gluten ingredients but may be cross-contaminated with gluten.

The flavor used in this non-alcoholic beverage contains malt extract, which is gotten from barley and gluten grain. You might want to stay off this ginger beer if you’re gluten-sensitive.

Is Saranac ginger beer gluten-free?

Saranac ginger beer does not contain any gluten ingredients. It is also vegan and lactose-free.


As mentioned earlier, you don’t have to stay off beer if you’re gluten-free. You can enjoy a chilled can of ginger beer among other gluten-free beers like Anheuser-Busch Redbridge Lager beer.

Most ginger beers are gluten-free, but you should take extra care to go through the ingredient list.

If you find any gluten ingredient as the main ingredient or an additive, don’t drink it. Buy the gluten-free ginger beers listed in the article and stick to them instead.

Thanks for reading. Also, find out if all types of alcohol are gluten-free.