Is Aioli Dairy-Free? Find Out & See An Easy Recipe

Yes, aioli is dairy-free. If you need creamy, dairy-free sauces, you should try mayo-based sauces like aioli.

As creamy and smooth as it looks, it’ll interest you to know that it does not contain dairy. Also, aioli is one of the easiest and quickest sauces to put together.

Eating dairy-free does not mean you should completely rule out your chances of enjoying nice dishes. You just have to put in the extra work, find out what is dairy-free and what is not, and learn easy and quick recipes too.

I believe this has piqued your interest already. Continue reading to see all that you need to know.

What is aioli?

Aioli is a garlic and olive oil emulsion that originates from Provence, France.

The store-bought version of this garlicky sauce contains other ingredients like egg yolk (to enhance emulsification), lemon juice, mustard, and salt.

The name aioli started in Catalonia, Spain and it means garlic oil which it is indeed. When brands started to manufacture aioli, they used egg yolk for emulsification. Traditional aioli was made with only a mortar and pestle.

Back then, chefs would pound the garlic into a paste while slowly adding olive oil. And emulsifying olive oil into the mashed garlic was a lot of work.

Later on, some brands began to include ingredients like cashews and non-dairy milk to make it creamy.

Also, some brands like Chipotle incorporated mayonnaise into their recipe, which is why it is commonly mistaken and used in place of mayonnaise.

The use of aioli spread wide because of its health benefits. It is a rich source of protein and vitamin E because of olive oil. The most common use for aioli is as a dip for vegetables & bread, and as a sauce for seafood and chicken.

Is aioli dairy-free?

Yes, it is.

Aioli does not contain milk or any other dairy products. Therefore, it is safe for people with dairy allergies or those on a vegan diet.

Is aioli lactose-free?

Yes, it is.

Since aioli does not contain milk, it is equally lactose-free because lactose is milk sugar. And as mentioned earlier, aioli does not contain any dairy products.

Does aioli contain eggs?

Aioli may or may not contain eggs, depending on the method of preparation and personal preferences.

Traditional aioli is made with garlic, olive oil, lemon juice, and salt. But if the recipe includes eggs, the yolk or pasteurized egg is used as an emulsifier.

Eggs help to mix the ingredients into a smooth mixture. In addition, eggs are commonly used in homemade aioli to make emulsification easier.

Does aioli have soy?

Traditional aioli does not contain soy. However, homemade aioli recipes may include soy sauce based on personal preferences.

Additionally, some store-bought varieties may contain soy if they are produced on the same production line that produces soy-based products.

Therefore, you should be wary of store-bought aioli if you have a soy allergy. Always check the ingredient list for soy products.

Is aioli healthy?

Yes, it is.

Although it doesn’t offer so many benefits, it is delicious and satisfying. You should know that homemade aioli is more nutritious than store-bought aioli because the latter may contain preservatives and other ingredients that may reduce its nutritional value.

Aioli also has a high-calorie and fat content. So, you should eat it in moderation.

That being said, this is what the USDA has to say about the nutritional value of aioli.

A 100g serving contains:

  • 769 calories
  • 84.6g fat
  • 0g carbs
  • 0g fiber
  • 77mg cholesterol

Nonetheless, when you eat aioli in moderation, you can get vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients that can help boost your immunity, improve eyesight, improve the appearance of your skin, reverse signs of aging, boost brain health, decrease inflammation and protect gut health.

Additionally, aioli is a healthy choice for diabetics and people at risk of diabetes. It contains zero sugar and can help regulate blood sugar levels.

Is aioli the same as mayonnaise?

Aioli is garlic-flavored mayonnaise, but it may not always be mayo.

Some aioli recipes replace mayo with cashews and non-dairy milk for a creamier consistency. Also, most aioli recipes use egg yolk as an emulsifier, which makes it a lot like mayo.

Aioli and mayonnaise are both products of emulsification, and if you know how to use them well, you can use them interchangeably. Most importantly, aioli is a type of mayonnaise but not all mayonnaise is aioli.

How to make dairy-free aioli

Use this recipe to make 2 cups of dairy-free aioli at home.

With egg yolks


  • 4 egg yolks
  • 8 medium cloves garlic, peeled and pressed
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
  • 1 cup of extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon of kosher salt


  • Pour the egg yolk and lemon juice into a bowl and whisk
  • Slowly pour in the olive oil, whisking continuously until you have an even mixture
  • Afterward, add the pressed garlic and whisk together to form a smooth, creamy aioli
  • If the aioli feels thicker than you want, add more lemon juice. But if it’s too light, add more olive oil
  • Store aioli in an airtight container and refrigerate for 3 to 5 days

Without egg yolks


  • 20 medium cloves garlic, peeled and pressed
  • 8 teaspoons of fresh lemon juice
  • Sprinkle of salt
  • 2 cups of mayonnaise


  • Mix the garlic and lemon juice into an even mixture
  • Afterward, add the salt and leave the mixture to stand for 15 minutes. This will allow the lemon juice to absorb the flavor from the garlic
  • Then, stir the mayo into the garlic and lemon mixture
  • Mix it properly until you have an even and smooth mixture
  • Feel free to add more taste with Dijon mustard
  • You can also use more mayo for a creamier, less garlicky aioli

How to use aioli

  • As a dip for vegetables, fries, chicken strips, zucchini, meatballs,
  • As a marinade for chicken
  • Drizzle aioli over tacos and quesadillas
  • Use aioli as a sauce for seafood, burgers, sandwiches, and chicken
  • Use aioli as a topping for a rice dish


Is Chipotle aioli dairy-free?

Yes, it is.

Chipotle aioli is made from cashews or mayonnaise, non-dairy milk, garlic, lemon juice, Chipotle pepper in adobo sauce, nutritional yeast, and other seasonings.

Is Heinz aioli dairy-free?

Yes, Heinz aioli is dairy-free and completely safe for people who cannot tolerate dairy and lactose.

Is Burger Fuel aioli dairy-free?

Yes, it is. Burger Fuel’s website confirms that their aioli is dairy-free. It is 100% egg, crushed garlic, and canola oil.

Is mayo dairy-free?

Yes, it is.

Most mayonnaise brands do not contain milk or any other dairy products. They are therefore safe for people with dairy allergies and lactose intolerance.


Aioli is olive oil, mayonnaise, garlic, and lemon juice combined in an easy recipe to give a tasty, vegan, dairy-free, nut-free, and gluten-free sauce.

Although aioli may contain mayo, it is a more flavorful version. Think of it as a digress from the regular creamy mayonnaise.

Now that you know aioli is safe for your dairy allergies, try out the recipe in the article. Serve delicious dairy-free aioli with roasted vegetables, chips, chicken, sandwiches, burgers, and fries.

Thanks for reading.

Visit Millenora to read more articles on dietary restrictions to know what you can and cannot eat.