List of Foods That Are Naturally Gluten-Free – Top 9 Picks

Are you on a gluten-free diet? I’m sure this list of naturally gluten-free foods is something you want in your hands now.

As you probably know, gluten is a protein present in many grains, such as wheat, barley, and rye. These days it is also present (sometimes masked) in lots of other food products, including beer, soups, and even salad dressings.

And while it is such a common ingredient, it is not tolerable for everyone. A gluten-free diet is the only medically-proven treatment for celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

However, this diet isn’t just for people with these conditions. Some people have found that they feel better without gluten.

If you’re trying to avoid gluten, this article provides a list of foods that are naturally gluten-free to help you shop smarter. Keep reading to find out.

List of naturally gluten-free foods

1. Fruits and vegetables

Most fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. However, you need to be careful with processed or pre-packaged fruits and vegetables.

Some brands may contain gluten if they have been prepared in a facility that also processes gluten-containing foods.

Fruits and vegetables that may contain gluten include salad mixes, frozen veggies, and frozen fruit mixes. In addition, be sure to check the label when buying dried fruit mixes and canned veggies, as they may also contain gluten.

2. Beans and legumes

Most beans and legumes are naturally gluten-free as well. However, they sometimes contain additives that contain gluten, so you want to check the ingredient label before buying them.

For example, some types of soybeans contain wheat or other grains that contain gluten. Other examples of beans that sometimes contain gluten include baked beans, three-bean salad mix, and garbanzo beans.

3. Meat

Most types of meat, including beef, lamb, and pork, are naturally gluten-free. However, it is important to check processed meats like hot dogs and sausages to make sure they don’t contain any gluten ingredients or fillers.

4. Grains

Contrary to popular belief, not all grains contain gluten. Some grains are naturally gluten-free when they’re pure and don’t have any additives.

Some of these grains include:


Quinoa is one of the most popular grains among health-conscious people. It’s gluten-free, high in protein, and one of the few plant foods that contain sufficient amounts of all nine essential amino acids, making it a complete protein source.


Buckwheat is naturally gluten-free and loaded with nutrients. Whole-grain buckwheat contains all three parts of the grain: the bran, germ, and endosperm. This means it’s a good source of fiber, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.


Rice is a naturally gluten-free food that pairs well with many different foods. It’s also high in fiber and contains important minerals such as manganese, potassium, and magnesium. 

5. Nuts and seeds

Nuts and seeds are naturally gluten-free. You can eat them as snacks, or add them to smoothies, salads, or other dishes for extra protein and healthy fats.

However, some varieties may be contaminated with gluten if they’re processed in the same facility as gluten-containing products. This is especially true for nuts that are sold in bulk bins.

In addition, manufacturer-produced nut butter and nut-based flours may contain other ingredients that aren’t gluten-free. Therefore, it’s important to check the label before you purchase these products.

6. Poultry

Poultry is naturally gluten-free, but some preparation methods can add gluten to your meal.

Breading and batters, for example, can cause cross-contamination if your poultry comes in contact with surfaces or equipment previously used for foods that contain gluten.

When eating out, confirm how your poultry is being prepared or ask for the chef to prepare it separately (with gluten-free utensils).

Also, if you’re buying seasoned or marinated poultry at the grocery store, double-check the label or ask if there’s any gluten in the seasoning. Some brands may use soy sauce (made from wheat) in their marinades.

7. Dairy products

Plain dairy products, such as cow milk, plain yogurt, and cheese, are naturally gluten-free. However, flavored dairy products may have ingredients that contain gluten, so you should read the food label carefully.

It is also important to know that cheeses require a little investigation. Cheeses that are labeled gluten-free are safe for you to eat.

But if the cheese you want to buy does not carry a gluten-free label, check with the manufacturer before making your purchase.

8. Fish and seafood

Fish and seafood are naturally gluten-free. This includes all types of fish and shellfish. During preparation, however, fish and seafood can become contaminated with gluten.

When choosing fish or seafood, always ensure that it is not cross-contaminated with other ingredients or gluten-containing foods. To do this, check the ingredient list and look for a “gluten-free” label on the packaging.

9. Eggs

Eggs are naturally gluten-free and can be a good source of protein. However, cross-contact can occur at any point during production (even in the henhouse).

If you have concerns about whether or not the eggs you want to buy contain gluten, call the manufacturer directly. Buying fresh eggs from a source you trust is your best bet for gluten-free eggs.

Additionally, be careful when you’re cooking your eggs. Avoid using any ingredients that contain gluten. Steer clear of anything that contains oats or barley (such as malt) to avoid contamination.


Is celiac disease the same as gluten intolerance?

No, it is not. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder while gluten intolerance is gluten sensitivity. Although they both share similar symptoms, they are not the same.

Gluten intolerance, also known as non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS) does not negatively impact overall health like celiac disease. The latter, most times, eventually damages the digestive tract.

On the other hand, people with NCGS can find relief when they eat gluten-free foods.

What drinks are gluten-free?

Most of the major soft drink brands are gluten-free. So, it’s okay to wash down your meals with Coca-Cola, Pepsi, Dr. Pepper, Barq’s, Mountain Dew, Fanta, and A&W.

There are also gluten-free wines, liqueurs, and beers.

Are there gluten-free desserts?

Yes, there are. You can make your desserts, from cakes to parfaits, gluten-free by modifying your ingredients. Check and be sure all your ingredients do not contain gluten.

If the recipe you found uses gluten ingredients, look for gluten-free alternatives.


Whether you’re allergic to gluten or just looking for a healthier diet, there are plenty of foods out there that you can enjoy without worrying about gluten.

Work with the foods listed in the article. Also, always examine pre-packaged foods for the presence of gluten ingredients. When eating out, ensure to let the manager or the waiter know about your condition.

Most importantly, be sure about the condition you have. It could be celiac or NCGS because they both have similar symptoms.

Hopefully, this list will help you navigate your way through the grocery store and find naturally gluten-free foods.

Hey! Got a gluten-sensitive dog? Here’s a list of gluten-free foods for your dogs.

Thanks for reading.

If you want to know more about gluten-free foods, visit Millenora.