Can Vegans Eat Bread? A List Of Vegan And Non-Vegan Bread

Recently, a lot of vegans want to know if they can eat bread without going against the standards of their diet. Like almost everyone in the world, you have also been eating bread for as long as you can remember.

If you are pausing to gather your facts on bread and your diet, you’re not alone.

Bread is a popular staple that is available in different types – in different shapes and containing different ingredients. There are the basic bread ingredients, which are flour, water, salt, sugar, and yeast. If your bread ingredients do not exceed these, you are safe.

However, there is more to know about the safety of bread for vegans. In this article, you will learn how to identify vegan and non-vegan breads.

Can vegans eat bread?

If the bread is made with the traditional recipe, yes, vegans can eat it. However, some varieties use more ingredients than the typical flour, yeast, sugar, and salt.

Except for homemade bread where you are sure of the ingredients, always double-check to be sure the bread does not contain non-vegan ingredients.

Some of these ingredients to look out for are milk, eggs, honey, lard, butter, lecithin, mono- and diglycerides.

Furthermore, most store-bought breads are vegan, but you should always check again for the ingredients listed above. Some brands use these ingredients to achieve a different texture and flavor.

Why is yeast vegan?

Yeast is not of animal origin; neither is it damaged in the process of consumption. It doesn’t fall under the animal category even though it is a fungus.

Moreover, if you eat mushrooms on your vegan diet, it is safe to eat yeast in baked goods.

What ingredients can make bread non-vegan?

Besides the known non-vegan ingredients like eggs, milk, butter, lard, and honey, the following may also be non-vegan:

White sugar

White sugar is sometimes made from animal bone char which rules it off the vegan list. If you are being careful with white sugar, stick with bread made with brown sugar instead.


Lecithin can be from plant (soybeans) or animal sources (egg yolk). They are emulsifiers used to improve the texture and taste of bread.

Some brands specifically mention the source of the lecithin they use. Check the label to be sure you are buying bread with soy lecithin.

Mono or diglycerides

Mono- or diglycerides act as emulsifiers in bread. They can be sourced from soybeans and animal fats. Not all brands carefully state the source of mono- and diglycerides they use. It is safer to stay off bread that contains any of these ingredients.

Casein and whey

Casein and whey are milk proteins used as fillers in some commercial bread brands.


Ghee is clarified butter, and it is not vegan.

Types of vegan bread

Whole wheat bread

whole wheat bread - millenora

Whole wheat bread made with the basic three ingredients and any other non-vegan ingredients is suitable for a vegan diet.

White bread

If you make your white bread at home or buy vegan brands, you are safe. Some brands include eggs and dairy products to create different textures and flavor profiles.


sourdough bread - millenora

Sourdough bread is naturally vegan. The traditional sourdough uses a fermented starter made with flour, water, and lactobacillus.


pita bread - millenora

Pita is a flatbread made with flour, water, salt, and less yeast than other types of bread. It looks a lot like naan and makes a vegan alternative to it.


baguette - millenora

The typical baguette dough contains only flour, water, yeast, and salt. It fully supports a vegan diet. However, some people love to be experimental and add eggs and milk. It wouldn’t hurt if you made inquiries.

Multi-grain bread

This bread is made with two or more types of grains. The most used grains are wheat, oats, barley, flax, and millet. It may also include edible seeds like quinoa, flaxseed, sunflower seed, and pumpkin seeds.

Potato bread

potato bread - millenora

Potato bread is a delicious bread made with potato flour in replacement of all-purpose flour or from a dough made with mashed potatoes, flour, water, and yeast.


ciabatta bread - millenora

As long as you are not eating ciabatta al latte (a variety of ciabatta bread made with milk), you are safe. Ciabatta is a long soft and airy bread made with flour, water, yeast, and sugar.


focaccia bread - millenora

Most focaccia recipes are vegan. As an Italian bread, it gets its rich texture and flavor from olive oil instead of butter and eggs.

Some non-vegan bread

Naan bread

can vegans eat naan bread - millenora

Naan is a traditional Indian flatbread that is also eaten in America. Apart from the basic bread ingredients, it also contains yogurt, eggs, and other dairy products. It is also brushed with ghee.

Except you are making it yourself or you are buying vegan bread, vegans cannot eat naan bread.


can vegans eat cornbread - millenora

The traditional cornbread recipe is not vegan-friendly. It is made with cornmeal, eggs, milk, flour, sugar/honey, salt, and baking powder. Eggs, milk, and honey are non-vegan ingredients.  


can vegans eat challah  bread- millenora

Challah is a Jewish bread eaten ceremonially in Jewish homes. Some people try to make vegan variations to suit their dietary restrictions. However, traditional challah contains eggs and sometimes honey for its rich texture and flavor.  


can vegans eat brioche bread - millenora

The signature bright yellow appearance and smooth buttery taste of this French bread comes from lots of butter, milk, and eggs in the dough. It is in no way vegan. Plus, vegan alternatives are not so easy to achieve.  

Rye bread

can vegans eat rye bread - millenora

Rye bread requires milk or eggs for its light texture. So, it is not vegan. If you are eating it in Germanic or Scandinavian cuisine, you can be sure that it is not vegan.


Tortilla bread or wraps contain flour, water, salt, and lard. Some recipes leave out lard, but most classic recipes use it. You can make vegan tortilla wraps at home by replacing lard with olive oil or vegetable shortening.  


Is garlic bread vegan?

Garlic bread is usually non-vegan because it contains butter. But you can make your garlic bread non-vegan if you use baguette, a bread made from a lean dough that doesn’t require fat or butter.

Can vegans eat bread with butter?

Butter and buttermilk are non-vegan food items. Vegans should not eat bread that contains any of these ingredients, nor should they pair bread with any of these items.

Are bagels vegan?

The traditional bagel recipe uses only flour, water, yeast, and salt. However, some recipes may also include non-vegan ingredients like eggs, milk, butter, honey, flavorings, additives, and fillings that may be of animal origin.

Are English muffins vegan?

English muffins usually contain milk and butter, which makes them non-vegan. You can make yours vegan if you make them at home. Also, some store-bought English muffins use vegetable shortening instead of milk. You can try any of those too.

Is bread vegetarian-friendly?

Bread is vegetarian-friendly as long as it doesn’t contain lard, rennet, gelatin, glycerine, animal enzymes, etc.


Bread is mostly vegan, except when the recipe includes honey, butter, milk, and eggs. Also, what you pair with your bread could make it violate the rules of veganism. Some breads are naturally vegan, regardless of the brands and some are not.

When buying bread from stores, check the labels for non-vegan ingredients to ensure you’re sticking with the standards. However, It may be safer to bake your bread at home. This way you are sure of the ingredients you used.

Thanks for reading.